A Future and a Hope

This week I read a post by Ann Voskamp, author of “One Thousand Gifts”. It could not have come at a better time – God’s perfect timing.

On a day when I felt all hope was lost, I am again challenged by Ann and others in her “community” to look beyond the circumstances that distract us from keeping our eyes on Him.

Today, my fears became reality and I felt all hope was lost. My daughter is terribly ill, and the realisation REALLY hit me more than ever before, that there is nothing I can do to help her. My heart aches for her and I felt God had abandoned me, abandoned her. But a reminder that God is listening came in the form of a blog post from Ann. My eyes were off Him for a moment as I allowed the situation to overwhelm me. BUT He drew me back to Him and I am reminded of the poem, “Footprints”.

“During your times of trial and suffering, when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.”

I am also reminded of the scripture I have held on to for so many years:

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

So again I am grateful to Him. As one day ends, another begins… In Him I have hope.

Feel free to read the beginnings of my own One Thousand Gifts – Gratitude Journal (click the tab at the top of the page)

One thought on “A Future and a Hope

Leave a Reply

