Giving Thanks

Last Thursday, my husband and I took an impromptu drive up into the D’Aguilar Range, north-west of Brisbane. It is a beautiful National Park area with remote gorges, open eucalypt woodlands, gum forests, subtropical rainforests, spectacular views and plenty of wildlife.

Here is one of the beautiful views taken from Jolly’s Lookout.

As I looked out on this beautiful scenery, I was reminded of God’s unfailing love, His incredible patience, His blessing of grace and His great faithfulness that is extended to us. We don’t deserve it, but He gives it anyway.

This particular day marked a HUGE turning point for my husband and I in our relationship. And what better way to spend the afternoon than time alone enjoying & marvelling at God’s creation.

We don’t celebrate “Thanksgiving” in Australia but this year, due to my health & difficult family circumstances, I set myself the challenge to look for things to be grateful for everyday. I bought myself a wonderful book called “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp which encourages reader’s to create their own Gratitude Journal. I have included my own here. I am also following Ann’s blog A Holy Experience and I try to link up with her on Mondays & Wednesdays.

Some days/weeks it has been a real struggle, especially with the stressful situations we have experienced as a family. I haven’t managed to write something every day over the last few months, as originally planned, but I am VERY slowly adding to my list.

I am however trying to see positives in every day, even if I don’t write them down. It’s amazing how changing your focus can lift your mood.

Thanking Him for:

37.     For the blessing of new found friendships.

38.     For beauty all around.

39.     For drives in the mountains.

40.     For laughter.

41.     For reconciliation with loved ones.

42.     For new beginnings.

43.     For forgiveness.

44.     For His love, patience, grace and faithfulness even though we don’t deserve it.

Leave a Reply

